What made me want to be a developer? A story behind my journey.

What made me want to be a developer? A story behind my journey.

Β·

4 min read

Introduction πŸ‘‹

Hi there, This is my first article for the #4articles4weeks challenge. In this article, I'll be going to tell you what made me decide that I want to be a developer, A story behind my journey to be a developer. Let's get started!

About me πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

So, My name is Darshan and I'm a full-stack web developer. I mainly work in a startup as a senior software engineer and apart from this, I do like to create contents and write articles in my spare time. Moreover, I can describe myself as a person who likes to explore nature, develop, design, and ship.

What made me decide to want to be a developer? πŸ’»

Alright, so get ready to go into my past in that moment able golden days when I got to know about programming and started learning to program. Let's start with the story, I'm sure you'll love it.

The Story πŸ“œ

So, going back to the historic days. Yes, those days were so historic for me. Those were the days when I was having no perfect aim, no dedication to anything, and no passion. I was so introverted person at that time.

And if we go into more depth into this story, I was a student who goes to school every day come back from school, and does anything that I'd like to. Anything mean study or maybe play or just binge watch YouTube. To be more clear, this was me when, before COVID-19. And in May 2020, COVID hit the world. You and I both got stuck in the houses, and now since I got nothing to do rather than binge-watching YouTube.

But one day yes one day, Significantly one youtube video popped up when I was scrolling through YouTube. And that video was about "What is Programming? And how you can learn that too?" I don't remember the actual channel but I started watching that video and I loved the way he explain what is programming. I started exploring more into Programming and its concepts. After that, I got a lot of interest in programming, and as I knew what programming is and why it is used, I explored more and picked up my first programming language and that was Python 🐍.

The exploration πŸ”

Alright, so back to my first exploration I started learning Python from different resources such as YouTube, Blogs, Documentation, etc. I daily started giving it time for learning, daily I learn some new concepts about Python and practice them by myself. I made some great projects starting some of them were snake game, chess, ai bot, etc. This was my first phase of learning Python and I by heart learned it every day and practice it. Then as time goes by, I learn new concepts. But as I got great in a particular language, then I got to know about web development. As I was new and getting different language suggestions. I started exploring more into web dev and same learned it and practiced it.

The Decision πŸš€

Alright, so as I was knowing 1-2 languages, I got deeper into practicing it and making as much as projects as I can. I also got to know some advantages to be a developer, and as I have also got my passion and my interest in technology, I decided to be a developer. And give 100% of my focus to this field.

And as Ken Thompson says:

β€œOne of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code.”

I literally spend my day coding and throwing away lines of code. I enjoy doing it. And if you enjoy doing it. Just do it! ⚑

Conclusion ✨

It doesn't matter in which field or which job you need to go in, it decides your passion. If you enjoy doing things that you'd like and have a good knowledge of that particular thing. Just do it and make more progress in that thing. I am sure you will find it great and interesting to work with.

Happy Coding!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Darshan Mandade by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β